Skip to content Skip to navigation

Leadership Awards


Hmong Student Union wins the Capturing the Spirit in 2015SAL Campus Impact Awards

Awarded to student organizations and to a volunteer advisor by the office of Student Activities and Leadership.

Purpose: To recognize and honor student organizations and advisors of student organizations for great service contributions to the Stanford community in one of the following categories:

Leaving a Legacy
Initiatives that have had a strong and sustained impact on or off-campus.

Capturing the Spirit
Initiatives that embody the spirit and soul of the Stanford student community.

Inspiring Innovation
Efforts that have inspired innovation through programs, publications or other activities.

Building Bridges
Collaborative efforts that seek to create understanding and dialog.

Advisor of the Year - NEW THIS YEAR
An advisor who has gone above and beyond to support a student organization.

Critera for Student Organization Nominations

  • Organizations nominated must be currently registered student organizations.
  • Efforts recognized should be recent but can include past accomplishments.
  • Nominations are sought broadly from all members of the Stanford community and student organization advisors.
  • Orgs may self-nominate but preference is given to those that include a recommendation from staff, faculty or an advisor.
  • All nominations should be made by an individual.

 Nominate a Student Organization

Criteria for Advisor

  • Advisor role must be in a voluntary capacity
  • Advisor must be a faculty, staff, or alumni member at Stanford

Nominate an Advisor​


ALL Nominations are due on Sunday, May 8 by 11:59 pm. 

Congratulations to the 2015 SAL Impact Award recipients

  • Stanford Dance Marathon
    for Leaving a Legacy
  • Hmong Student Union
    for Capturing the Spirit 
  • Stanford Political Journal and Stanford Undergraduate Research Association (SURA)
    for Inspiring Innovation 
  • Stanford Sanskriti
    for Building Bridges  

A reception was held in the student organization's honor on May 30 at the Arrillaga Alumni Center Palm Court where the awards were given. Nanci Howe, associate dean and director of Student Activities and Leadership, as well as Greg Boardman, vice provost for Student Affairs, spoke to thank the organizations for their leadership and service to the community. 


James W. Lyons Award

Awarded to individual students by the Dean of Student Life and Vice Provost for Student Affairs

Lyons Award winners standing with Jim Lyons
May 2015: Students pose with James Lyons at the awards dinner held in their honor at the Stanford Faculty Club
Photo by Joy Leighton/Student Affairs


To recognize and honor current students of the Stanford community for service and contributions made through a variety of departments, teams, clubs, residences and community projects on and off-campus.


Service contributions that are above the normal level of dedication, in areas or situations of extraordinary need, and that result in substantial positive change.

Nominate a student.

Nomination form coming soon!

Congratulations to the 2015 Lyons Award Recipients

  • Brian Cheung
  • Alfred Delena
  • Jessie Duan
  • William Fowler
  • Adam Horowitz
  • Julie Huang
  • Christian Leal
  • Gabriella Momah

A dinner was held in their honor on May 14 at the Stanford Faculty Club where the awards were given. Jim Lyons, former dean of Student Life and award namesake, Chris Griffith, the dean of Student Life, as well as Greg Boardman, vice provost for Student Affairs, spoke to thank the students for their leadership and service to the community.